2011: Year of Fruitfulness – Part 9


Having a one-to-one relationship with a discipler or spiritual mentor is probably one of the most missed blessings in the Christian life. The problem is two-fold … the lack of growing Christians with a heart and vision to be that for a younger believer and, at least here in the United States, a rather cavalier attitude that prevents many from seeking or even accepting spiritual guidance. Our culture has developed in us an unhealthy attitude of rugged individualism that drives us to try to go it alone. We might be fairly ready to get involved in a small group and learn some things there, but resist getting personal time with someone and really allowing them to see into our lives and ask tough questions about how we’re applying what we’re learning.

How about you? Are you willing to accept some personal help and spiritual guidance? Are you willing to take it a step further and seek help? If so, I’m going to ask you to indicate that on your offering envelope … just write ‘I want to be discipled’ and we will seek to identify someone to meet with you. I’ve already done that. I recognized when I made this resolution that I have been operating for several years now with having a relationship with someone committed to discipling and mentoring me. So I took the initiative and, after praying about the possibilities, asked Pastor Chuck if he would be willing to do that. He is willing and we have begun meeting.

Considering having a one-to-one relationship with someone to disciple them or to just seek an opportunity to share the gospel with them can be a very daunting prospect. Many considering this possibility would rightly say, “But I don’t know how. I wouldn’t have a clue what to do … where to start”. Sadly, most will do nothing about it and will remain comfortable in their ignorance. Let me challenge you to join that first group seeking a discipler so that you can learn how so that you too can join the ranks of those who can, and do, respond to Paul’s admonition to ‘entrust these things to faithful men’. If you do believe you have what it takes and want to join me in this part of my new years resolution, then let me ask you to indicate that also on the offering envelope … just write ‘I want to disciple someone’ and we’ll see if we can’t help you get connected with someone that wants to be discipled.

I started off this message last week talking about the situation that we are in currently at Crossroads, being without a senior pastor. I challenged you with the thought that this is a season to thrive as a church and not merely survive. This is the way that we can do it … by committing ourselves to zeroing in on one-to-one with Jesus, with a discipler, and with a disciple. It will absolutely revolutionize us, both personally and as a church. Failure to do so will doom us to the huddles of the ‘also-rans’.

Leave a comment

Filed under Bearing Fruit

Leave a Reply

